My Summer in New York

1 City

5 Boroughs

9 Subway Lines

25+ Neighborhoods

29 Restaurants

3 Ballgames

5 Museums

10 Parks

2 National Monuments

1 National Park

30+ Street Musicians

3 Tunnels

5 Bridges

2 Ferry Rides

1 Cab Ride

2 Churches

1 Church Family

2 Concerts

1 Company

2 Magazine Events

1 Toilet with a View

1 Musical

2 Television Tapings

1 Freakshow

3 Department Store Sales Days

2 Summer Camps

1 Chess Game

10 Visitors

1 View From NYC’s Tallest Building

4 Shady Experiences

1 All Star Game Parade

35+ Homemade Meals

1 Volunteer Day

2 Central Park Excursions

15+ Filming Location Viewings

5 Trips to Jersey

72 Blog Posts

Countless Walks

Endless Subway Rides

This, my friends, is what I did and saw in New York City.  I can say that I dominated what many people call the Greatest City in the World.  Looking back, overall, it was the greatest summer of my life.  I thank everybody around me for the encouragement in doing it, Christ most of all.  Second of all, Michelle.  I could not and would not have had this great experience without her.  The summer got me excited and prepared us for starting the rest of our lives together.

. . .

On my last night in the city we had an intern farewell at Club300 at Chelsea Piers, it was awesome. Knowing I wouldn’t have much time to walk and reflect my last night, I did it the night before.  After work I walked through Rockefeller and over to Times Square to take it in one last time for the summer and reflect on the things listed above.  It was so relaxing and comforting because I had done it.  I lived the dream in New York City.  Left my roots, worked for an amazing company, had a great office view, lived in a hip area, ate tons of food, and did it all with the greatest woman in the world.

We were New Yorkers.

I say that because I can.  Anybody can, especially somebody who paid the New York City Residence Income Tax.  You see, in New York you can become a New Yorker as soon as you jump into the flow.  You feel it when your on the escalator in Grand Central or when you furiously walk around tourists in Times Square.  You don’t have to prove yourself as a New Yorker like you do in other cities, all you have to do is throw yourself into it.  Just make sure your head’s up.

Thanks for reading,

-George the New Yorker

0 Responses to “My Summer in New York”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Posted This Month